

To: Members of the Performance

Scrutiny Committee

Date: 12 July 2019

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the PERFORMANCE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on THURSDAY, 18 JULY 2019 in CONFERENCE ROOM 1A, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN.

Please note that a briefing session will be held for all members and Co-opted members at 9.15am, immediately prior to the main meeting. All members are asked to make every effort to attend this session.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING (Pages 7 - 16)

To receive the minutes of the Performance Scrutiny Committee meeting held on 13 June 2019 (copy enclosed)

10.05am - 10.10am

5 MANAGEMENT OF SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES (Pages 17 - 32)

To consider a report on the Management of School Governing Bodies by the Education Planning and Resource Manager (copy enclosed) which seeks the Committee to discuss potential measures to ensure that school governing bodies are effective and compliant with legislation

10.10am - 11am

BREAK 11am - 11.15am

6 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 33 - 54)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

11.15am - 11.45am

7 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups

11.45am - 12pm

PART 2 - CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS

None

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Huw Jones (Chair) Councillor Hugh Irving (Vice-Chair)

Ellie Chard Arwel Roberts
Ann Davies Peter Scott
Martyn Holland David Williams

Geraint Lloyd-Williams

Voting Co-opted Members for Education (Agenda Item No. 5 only)

Kathleen Jones Neil Roberts

David Lloyd

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils